HomeHistory Of CigarsCigars GuideBy SizeTop RatedLinksAbout Us

 By Brands:
Belinda Cigars
Bolivar Cigars
Cabanas Cigars
Cifuentes Cigars
Cohiba Cigars
Cuaba Cigars
Davidoff Cigars
Diplomaticos Cigars
Dunhill Cigars
El Rey del Mundo Cigars
Fonseca Cigars
Gispert Cigars
Guantanamera Cigars
H. Upmann Cigars
Hoyo de Monterrey Cigars
Jose L. Piedra Cigars
Juan Lopez Cigars
La Corona Cigars
La Escepcion Cigars
La Flor de Cano Cigars
La Flor del Caney Cigars
La Gloria Cubana Cigars
Los Statos de Luxe Cigars
Maria Guerrero Cigars
Montecristo Cigars
Partagas Cigars
Por Larranaga Cigars
Punch Cigars
Quai d'Orsay Cigars
Quintero y Hno. Cigars
Rafael Gonzalez M. Cigars
Ramon Allones Cigars
Romeo y Julieta Cigars
Saint Luis Rey Cigars
San Cristobal de La H. Cigars
Sancho Panza Cigars
Siboney Cigars
Trinidad Cigars
Troya Cigars
Vegas Robaina Cigars
Vegueros Cigars

Cohiba Esplendidos

View all Julieta No. 2 Cigars    

<< Double Corona LE 2003Exquisitos >>

Cohiba Cigars
Origin:CubaManufactured: Hand Made
Gauge:ThickLength:178
Format:Julieta No. 2Ring:47
Weight:15,07 gr.Score:8.6
Presentation: 2 Layers in a varnished Semi Boite Nature of 25


Average user rating


Review #173: ---   This cigar is arguably king of the Churchill format. While the best churchills that I ever smoked were the Punch Churchills back in the day (up to about 10 or 11 years ago) Punch has pretty much died as far as I know--they really destroyed their own brand. Esplendidos definitely gets top marks for it's consistent quality spanning many years. It's a legendary cigar with an amazing pedigree. To people on here giving it bad reviews, saying they paid $20 in 2009 and it had no finish etc... considering that they cost almost that in Cuba (if they're real), and considering that you're smoking the single most faked cigar of all time I'd say your review was of probably of some Dominican bundle cigar. I've smoked many of these and currently have about 10 of them aging for the last 8 years, and top 10 cigars all-time for me. 94%. - Submitted by menschie on October 30, 2010


Review #172: ---   A medium to full, rich and creamy smoke. Best smoked after a full and hearty meal with a full bodied red wine. Not recommended for a novice smoker but for a true afficionado the Esplendido is a wonderful cigar. I think it is a typical Cohiba. Creamy, rich, slightly nutty with some hay and a slightly spicey finish. Each to his own, not my favourite cigar as it suffers sometimes from construction flaws but nontheless a great digestive after a big meal... Nice... Try one and see ;)) Submitted Oct 27th 2010. - Submitted by klingon63 on October 27, 2010


Review #171: FEB 02 Wow, what a great cigar!! Was lucky enough to smoke one of these bad boys after it had been aged for over 8 years!! A perfect smoke from start to finish. - Submitted by jaypulay on October 17, 2010


Review #170: NOV 08 Construction: The Esplendidos cigar has no imperfections, quite a smooth rich, reddish dark brown wrapper with an oily sheen with no hard or soft spots. In my opinion and in a ‘nut shell’…the Esplendidos is a very well rolled cigar and a ‘work of art’. Pre-Smoke: Very nice aroma and like with most other Cohiba cigars, you will be greeted with beautiful aromas each time you open your humidor. The Esplendidos’s pre-light is soft and woody with a hint of roasted coffee bean. Cutting and lighting presented no problems either and did not start "tunneling". In fact, the burn was very ‘even’, and also the draw was very easy. Smoking: When smoking this cigar, you will be pleasantly surprised by its smooth flavor and fragrant smoke. Once lit the musky, earthy and dark richness of this cigar begins to take center stage. Very faint flavors of creamy cocoa and roasted coffee bean hit the palate first. Rich, delicate but underscored with a deceptive strength. This cigar has a mild body (at first), with earthy and soft woody flavor and a just a touch of sweetness. The earthy and soft woody character will always be there, especially towards the last third of the cigar (although I did miss that ‘distinctive’ Cohiba tobacco flavor and taste). This cigar does not overpower the senses and the burn time was about 90-120 (depending on your smoking style), minutes of pure Cohiba ‘bliss’  Conclusion: Although this cigar could use a bit more age (for this review the Factory Box Code was MEL Nov 08), to totally bring the more ‘refined’ characteristics, but overall this cigar was an excellent and consistent Cohiba and perfect when paired with a cup of strong Cuban coffee and/or with a ‘snifter’ of fine Brandy, Cognac or Dickel No 12, Tennessee ‘Sippin’ Whisky. From the triple fermenting and aging, the secret blending and the finest choices of the Cuban tobaccos, to include the now famous ‘triple cap’, the Esplendidos is an excellent cigar for those desiring a rich, medium smoke in a Churchill format. - Submitted by jenkinschristopher on April 1, 2010


Review #169: MAR   ICohiba Esplendidos, what can I say… I got my box from Cuba, from a travel agent in Italy who takes tour groups to Cuba. That was is 1999. So, my Cohiba Esplendidos cigars have been ageing in my temp controlled wine cellar all that time. The last two I brought out in November 2009 smoked perfectly. Talk about a smooth cigar. The mouth feel of this cigar was incredible. Almost like having a piece of dark chocolate in your mouth, melting on your pallet. Smooth and creamy. Incredible. I have 8 left. I am going to let them age longer. In the correct environment, 15 years is ok. - Submitted by ajw6963 on March 31, 2010


This cigar spans 37 pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37



 
» Add a new review for Cohiba Esplendidos

Due to abuse of our review system by a small minority of internet users, we have decided to require reviewers to signup to our site before they may post a review. Signup is free, and all we require is a valid e-mail address. Please note we will not pass your e-mail on to any third party.

(Click here to Register or Login)

  

Cohiba Esplendidos


 RSS Latest Reviews